ERROR: This site requires cookies to be enabled. Please enable cookies in your browser or the site will not function correctly.

Welcome to Pennsylvania's online application to register as a home improvement contractor.  You must initially create an account, even if you are already registered as a home improvement contractor to utilize the online system. By completing this online application, and submitting the application fee, contractors can register or re-register with the Office of Attorney General as required by the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (“HICPA”). 

You may register or re-register online by using a credit card. You must complete all required fields on each page in order to be able to submit your application. You can also use the online application to modify your current information at any time. 

In order to use the new application, you will need to create an account. To do this, enter the appropriate information into the “Create an account” section. Once you create your account, you will need to use the email address and password to log in to the “Already have an account” section. Once you log in, you will have the option to register a new business, re-register, or make changes to an existing registration.

To begin a new application for registration, log into your account and enter the “Register Business” section. To renew or make changes to an existing application, log into your account and enter your HIC# and the SSN of any of the business applicants registered for that business into the “Renew or Update Information” section.

After you complete the application you will be asked to certify that the information contained in your application is truthful and complete, and submit an application fee of $50.00. When filing online and paying with a credit card, you will incur a processing fee of $1.28 which will appear on your statement as "L2G*PA-COMMONWLTH-HIC".

New applicants for registration will be issued a unique Pennsylvania Home Improvement Contractor number (PAHIC#).  Re-registration applicants will continue to use their previously issued registration number. You will also receive a registration certificate by mail.

The registration number must be included in any advertisements, contracts, estimates and proposals that you use in Pennsylvania.  In addition to registering with the Office of Attorney General, home improvement contractors must review HICPA and use contracts that comply with the requirements set forth in the law.  Failure to comply with HICPA can lead to civil and criminal penalties; and, may result in your contract being voidable and unenforceable.  A copy of the HICPA is available from this [ link ].  Additionally a copy of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law is available from [ link ].   You may also view a list of Frequently Asked Questions about the law [ here ].

PDF Documents

  1. General Instructions : For paper application only
NOTE: Self-insurance applicants should print out all three documents and complete the second and third. All other applicants should print out and complete the first and second documents.

Contractors may submit a completed PDF application and mail it to:

Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General
Bureau of Consumer Protection
15th Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
ATTN : Home Improvement Contractor Registration

A non-refundable fee of $50.00 must accompany each application.
The processing fee does NOT need to be included if you submit the paper application through the mail. The application fee accompanying paper applications must be in the form of a check or money order.

Home Improvement Contractor Registration Program Information Privacy Policy

Browser Compatibility
Warning: Our online registration system has been tested with Internet Explorer. Please use Internet Explorer to ensure all features work as expected.
Already have an online login account?
If you have already created an account on this site, please login using the email address used when creating the account.
*Email Address:
Self-Insurance Applicants
If you plan to apply for registration as a self-insured contractor, you must complete the web-fillable “PDF application” and the “Self-Insurance Certificate of Coverage and Attestation”, print them and mail them, along with the $50.00 non-refundable application fee, to the address below. The links to the application and attestation can be found to the left. You may also call the Bureau at 717.772.2425 or 1.800.441.2555 and ask that the application and attestation be mailed to you for completion and submission.
Create an online login account
An account will allow you to login and register, renew, or update your home improvement business registration.
*First Name:
*Last Name:
*Email Address:
Password must be at least 7 characters long and contain at least 1 special character or number.
*Confirm Password:
This question/answer combination will be asked to confirm your identity when changing the password.
*Security Question:
*Security Answer: